#parallax by Manny Done

Has man ever been to the moon?
if not then I’d be the first to go–

If man is to explore the stars and beyond,
then I’d be the first to depart to her soon.

For man is held by restraint,
the unworthiness alone is too much for the moon to consume.

She is pure in existence alone,
and we devalue the fountain from which she obtains her infinite youth.

For the seven seas bend to her polite will,
and the wolves serenade her with incessant chills.

I only wish to make her my home,
and run away from all of the world’s ill will.

 

Manimage16ny Done- I believe myself to be an old soul trapped in this conundrum of a nervous wreck that we call the human body. I also believe in a simple rule of life: if it is finite, then it is valuable. It has taken me 25 years to come to terms with that notion, and at the peak of my 25th year I decided that I would no longer apologize for being myself. That is why I take the time to write about my troubles, desires and my experiences. Every time I write about anything I am essentially going toe to toe against the greatest adversary I have ever known, myself. That is what poetry is to me, an opportunity to silence the voices of regret and embrace
the imperfections of a life that is limited in both time and energy, for the temporary is the forever, and forever is only a dream.

One thought on “#parallax by Manny Done

  1. I loved the line in Manny’s bio…
    “I decided that I would no longer apologize for being myself ”

    Enjoyed all the posts, as it is cool to see through others eyes and thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

